Partial Hospitalization Program: Now accepting applications
Kathy Sanders

Getting to know one of our therapists, Kathleen Sanders, LCSW.

Can you tell us about your education and how you entered this field?

I have a master’s in social work with a clinical emphasis and am a Licensed Clinical Social Worker. My undergraduate degree is in English and Psychology. All from Florida State University. Go NOLES! Interestingly I began my college career as a nursing student but found myself more interested in healing wounds on the inside verses bandaging the outside. I developed a desire to discover more about how the brain works and responds to stimuli and fell in love with clinical social work.

Do you have a clinical approach or philosophy? If so, what drew you to it?

My clinical approach is from a strengths-based perspective, starting where the client is at that moment. I feel it is important to work as a team and I value input from family and other team members. I have specialized in adjustment disorders, trauma (PTSD) and chronic mental health challenges. Feeling frustrated by the current mental health system, I was drawn to the CooperRiis Healing Community because of their integrative approach. Connections are important to me. I feel enthusiastic knowing CooperRiis creates the time, space, and positive energy to cultivate relationships.

Can you outline your work history leading up to CooperRiis?

I have been a Social Worker for 19 years. I began in child welfare at the bachelor level. Once I received my masters I began in medical social work and provided therapy to children and adolescents diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes. Before coming to CooperRiis I worked as a psychiatric clinician in the emergency room.

Can you share your thoughts on the new program? 

I am excited to be a part of the new program and believe it will reach a population we were previously not able to serve. I am excited we will be providing more robust clinical services, while maintaining the integrity of the CooperRiis model.

Can you share something personal with us?

I grew up in a military family and have lived all over the country, including Hawaii. I am now married and beyond blessed to call Asheville home. I enjoy travel and actually met my husband on a trip to Iceland. We were both visiting this magical country separately with friends. When we met, we discovered we lived 4.5 miles away from each other here in Asheville. We traveled 3,159 miles to find each other. We enjoy hiking with our dogs and love the calming properties of the mountains.

Share this post